Welcome to Yakyubaka.com

NPB: Nihon Seimei MVP and JA Zennoh Go Go Awards for July 2010

by on Aug.06, 2010 @ 4:58 pm, under NPB

Central League

Nihon Seimei MVP Awards

Keiichi Hirano, Hanshin Tigers (First Time)
21 G, 37-for-85, 0 HR, 4 RBI, .435 BA

Masanori Ishikawa, Yakult Swallows (Second Time)
4 G, 4-0, 0 CG, 33.4 IP, 11 K, 8 ER, 2.16 ERA

JA Zennoh Go Go Award (Magic Glove)

Yohei Oshima, Chunichi Dragons
Reason: With a 1-0 lead against the Giants on 7/29 in the bottom of the 4th with a runner on first and 2 out, Oshima made a great leaping play in center that not only ended the inning, but also likely kept the Giants from tying the game.

Pacific League

Nihon Seimei MVP Awards

Takahiro Okada, Orix Buffaloes (First Time)
23 G, 27-for-81, 9 HR, 21 RBI, .333 BA

Chihiro Kaneko (Second Time)
5 G, 5-0, 3 CG, 40.0 IP, 41 K, 4 ER, 0.90 ERA

JA Zennoh Go Go Award (Magic Glove)

Kensuke Uchimura, Rakuten Eagles (First Time)
Reason: In a game on 7/2 against the Nippon Ham Fighters, Uchimura made a great catch on a ball hit by Tomochika Tsuboi in the top of the 8th inning with one out (no one on) and the score tied at 2.