Welcome to Yakyubaka.com

Chihiro Kaneko extends winning streak to 13

by on Sep.20, 2010 @ 3:38 pm, under NPB

Chihiro Kaneko (ORI) extended his winning streak to 13 yesterday.  Only two other pitchers in franchise history have recorded 13 or more consecutive wins -- Yusaku Akimoto (13) and Tetsuya Yoneda (14) -- but neither have recorded all 13 or more wins as a starter.

Kaneko also becomes the 4th player in NPB history to record 13 wins in 14 games (the one game was a relief appearance in which he did not get a decision).  The other three pitchers: Hiroshi Suta (Victor Starffin) in 1940, Koji Uehara in 1999, and Kazumi Saito in 2003.