Welcome to Yakyubaka.com

Ni-gun Hanshin wins Western League

by on Sep.27, 2010 @ 4:20 am, under NPB

The Ni-gun Hanshin Tigers were crowned with their 15th (and first since 2006) Western League title on Sunday.

The Tigers were done with their schedule (last game on Saturday) and their record stood at 50-42-12.  The second place Softbank Hawks were 51-43-9 with one game left to play.  The Hawks dropped that game on Sunday, a 3-2 loss to the Chunichi Dragons, and made the Tigers the 2010 WL champs.

The Tigers will face the Chiba Lotte Marines at the 2010 Farm Championships on October 2nd.