Welcome to Yakyubaka.com

Norifumi Nishimura selected for Shoriki Matsutaro Award

by on Nov.15, 2010 @ 10:02 pm, under NPB

Norifumi Nishimura was selected to receive the Shoriki Matsutaro Award today (in addition to a money prize of 5M yen).

The voting committee for the Shoriki Matsutaro Award is made up Sadaharu Oh, Shigeru Sugishita, Futoshi Nakanishi, Koji Yamamoto, and Masao Taguchi.

Said Oh, "We made our selection based on the current rules and we felt the Chiba Lotte Marines deserved the award for winning the Nippon Series despite finishing in third place [during the regular season."

It seems the voting committee also felt that the fans and the oedan were deserving of the award as well.

The last Lotte player / manager to win the award was Bobby Valentine in 2005 (Nippon Series).