Welcome to Yakyubaka.com

Softbank Hawks are the 2011 Inter-league Champions

by on Jun.15, 2011 @ 11:07 pm, under NPB

The Softbank Hawks became the 2011 Inter-league Champions when they beat the Chunichi Dragons tonight, 5-3.  A Pacific League team has now become IL Champions 7 years straight.

Koji Akiyama also joins Bobby Valentine (formerly with Lotte) as the only managers in to record two IL Championships.

UPDATE 6/16 @ 12:36am - The Hawks announced on Wendesday that they will be selling merchandise (like t-shirts, mufflers, and bath towels) commemorating their 3rd Inter-league Championship.


A list of past champions:

Year Team Record
2010 Orix Buffaloes 16-8-0
2009 Softbank Hawks 18-5-1
2008 Softbank Hawks 15-9-0
2007 Nippon Ham Fighters 18-5-1
2006 Chiba Lotte Marines 23-13-0
2005 Chiba Lotte Marines 24-11-1

One comment on “Softbank Hawks are the 2011 Inter-league Champions

  1. Steve

    Having big celebrations for winning inter-league and throwing a parade for coming in first in the regular season (like they did last year) is probably a contributing factor to why they haven’t appeared in a Nippon Series in 8 years…

Comments are closed.