Welcome to Yakyubaka.com

Climax Series News and Notes: October 16, 2012

by on Oct.16, 2012 @ 8:16 pm, under NPB

Softbank Hawks

Yao-Hsun Yang will start Game 1 of the Final Stage.  He could be followed by Nagisa Arakaki.  After that, it will probably go back to Tadashi Settsu, Shota Takeda, and Kenji Otonari.  Source: Sports Hochi Osaka 10/16/2012

Nippon Ham Fighters

Mitsuo Yoshikawa will start Game 1 of the Final Stage.  Masaru Takeda will most likely start Game 2.  Brian Wolfe, Masaru Nakamura, and Keisuke Tanimoto could follow.  Source: Sports Hochi 10/16/2012


Yoshikawa threw about forty pitches in the bullpen today.  Source: Nikkan Sports 10/16/2012


Kensuke Kondo will reportedly make the roster for the Final Stage.  If he does, he will be the first rookie out of high school to make the postseason roster in franchise history.  Source: Sponichi 10/16/2012


The bullpen will likely include Hisashi Takeda, Hirotoshi Masui, Naoki Miyanishi, Yuya Ishii, Kazuhito Tadano, Toshiharu Moriuchi, and Dustin Molleken.  Yuki Saito, Toshiyuki Yanuki, and Tomohisa Nemoto will be back-ups.  Source: Sponichi 10/16/2012

Chunichi Dragons

The Dragons worked out for about two hours at Tokyo Dome today.  Source: Daily Sports 10/16/2012


Junki ItoYudai KawaiAkifumi Takahashi, and Nobumasa Fukuda left Miyazaki and joined the Ichi-gun team for workouts today.  Source: Nikkan Sports 10/16/2012


Masahiro Yamamoto (forty-seven years and two months) and Motonobu Tanishige (forty-one years and nine months) became the first over-forty pitcher/catcher combo in post-season history.  Their combined age of eighty-eight years and eleven months also set a new record.

Source: Nikkan Sports 10/16/2012, Sponichi 10/16/2012


Down 1-0, Tony Blanco hit a grand slam to give the team a 4-1 victory on Monday night.

Eleven grand slams have been hit during playoff/Climax Series games.  Of the eleven, four have been the come-from-behind variety: Terry Whitfield (1982); Alex Cabrera (2004); Terrmel Sledge (2009), and Blanco (2012).  And of the eleven, three have been hit by CL players: Michihiro Ogasawara (2008), Yoshitomo Tani (2009), and Blanco (2012).

Only two Chunichi players have hit a grand slam during the postseason: Tanishige (2004) and Blanco (2012).

Source: Nikkan Sports 10/16/2012, Sponichi 10/16/2012

Yomiuri Giants

Same-day tickets for the first two games of the Final Stage will be available at the ticket office near Gate 22, beginning at 10am.  Source: Nikkan Sports 10/16/2012, official announcement


The Giants were hoping to go with Toshiya Sugiuchi (left shoulder, fatigue) for Game 3, but it seems they may instead turn to Hirokazu Sawamura.  Source: Sanspo 10/16/2012

It seems Sugiuchi may not even be able to pitch during the Final Stage.  That could mean a Final Stage starting rotation of Tetsuya Utsumi, Dennis Houlton, Sawamura, Ryosuke Miyaguni, and either Dicky Gonzalez or Yuki Koyama.

Source: Sponichi 10/16/2012


Tatsunori Hara told reporters his starting line-up for the Final Stage will more or less be the same as the regular season -- everyday players will most likely remain in their usual spots.  Source: Daily Sports 10/16/2012


Taishi Ota worked out with the Ichi-gun team at Tokyo Dome on Monday but headed back to Miyazaki today.  Daisuke Nakai likely made the Climax Series roster over Ota.  Source: Nikkan Sports 10/16/2012

Sanspo figures catcher Ken Kato will be added to the roster over Ota because the Giants will end up carrying three catchers instead of two -- there is concern about Shinnosuke Abe's legs.  Source: Sanspo 10/16/2012

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *