Welcome to Yakyubaka.com

Climax Series News and Notes: October 19, 2012

by on Oct.19, 2012 @ 5:47 pm, under NPB

Softbank Hawks

Masahiko Morifuku had gone eleven consecutive post-season appearances (10.1 innings) without allowing a run until his outing on Thursday.

Nippon Ham Fighters

Yoshio Itoi became:

...the first player in the NPB to homer in two straight Climax Series game since Wladimir Balentien in the First Stage this year.

...the second Fighter in franchise history to homer in two straight playoff/Climax Series games.  The other was Michihiro Ogasawara in 2004.

...just the third player in NPB history (first in PL history) to record both a triple and a home run during a single playoff/Climax Series game.  The other two: Byung-Kyu Lee in 2007 and Alex Ramirez in 2008.

And since the one-win advantage was implemented in 2008, the CL or PL home team has won the first two games four times: Chunichi in 2010, Nippon Ham in 2009, Softbank in 2011, and Nippon Ham in 2012.  The three prior teams all ended up advancing to the Nippon Series.

Source: Sponichi 10/19/2012


Masaru Takeda has pitched in ten postseason games and recorded three victories.  Source: Sponichi 10/19/2012


Yuki Saito joined the Ichi-gun team at Sapporo Dome today.  Source: Nikkan Sports 10/18/2012

He could be added to the active roster on the 20th, if the series requires a game four.  Source: Sanspo 10/19/2012


The Fighters do not plan on holding anymore celebrations unless they win the Nippon Series.  Source: Sanspo 10/19/2012

Chunichi Dragons

The Dragons could become the first team in the CL to overcome the one-win home advantage and make it out of the Final Stage.  Note: the one-win home advantage was implemented in 2008.


Yohei Oshima has collected at least one hit in all five Climax Series games so far: 9-for-13 in three games during the First Stage and 3-for-10 in two games during the Final Stage.


Junki Ito became the first pitcher to record just one regular season victory AND win a game during the playoffs/Climax Series.  He also joined Hisashi Yamada (1973), Kenshin Kawakami (2007), and Wirfin Obispo (2009) to collect two hits in a playoff/Climax Series game.  Source: Sponichi 10/19/2012

Yomiuri Giants

Michihiro Ogasawara and Edgar Gonzalez joined the Ichi-gun team for workouts at Tokyo Dome today.  Neither were added to the active roster today.  Source: Nikkan Sports 10/19/2012