Welcome to Yakyubaka.com

[7/13/2013] Yomiuri, Chunichi, Yakult, Hanshin, Yokohama

by on Jul.13, 2013 @ 11:59 pm, under NPB

Yomiuri Giants

Shuichi Murata knocked out his tenth home run of the season on Friday and has now hit at least ten home runs in eleven consecutive seasons.


Tetsuya Utsumi is struggling.  Since his start on May 19, he has allowed thirty-three runs (twenty-six earned) on fifty-four hits over 39.2 innings of work.


Iwana Baseball Stadium in Sakura, Chiba was renamed to the Shigeo Nagashima Memorial Iwana Baseball Stadium.  A renaming ceremony was held on Friday with Nagashima as a special guest.  The city also held an awards ceremony to present the former Giant with a Citizen's Honor Award.  About 3,100 fans attended the festivities.

Source: Daily Sports 7/12/2013, Sponichi 7/12/2013

Chunichi Dragons

Hitoki Iwase moved into a 5th place tie with Yutaka Enatsu on the all-time list for appearances with 829.  Iwase made his first appearance on April 2, 1999.

Source: Daily Sports 7/13/2013

Yakult Swallows

2nd round draft pick Yasuhiro Ogawa won his tenth game of the year and will become the first pitcher in franchise history to record ten or more victories before the All-Star break in his first year since Yoshio Kitagawa in 1959.

Ogawa is also the first pitcher in the CL to win ten games.  The last CL rookie pitcher to reach ten victories before anyone else in the league was Koji Uehara with Yomiuri in 1999.

Source: Daily Sports 7/13/2013, Nikkan Sports 7/13/2013

Hanshin Tigers

Randy Messenger could be available to pitch in relief on the 17th against the Yomiuri Giants (last game before the All-Star break).

Source: Nikkan Sports 7/13/2013


Shinta Hifumi played in a Ni-gun game against Chunichi on Friday.  He started in left and batted fourth.  He went 3-for-5 with a strikeout and an RBI.

Yokohama Bay Stars

Shugo Fujii recorded the third shutout victory of his career today, first since April 18, 2002.  The eleven years in between shutouts matches similar droughts by Fumio Fujimura (1937 and 1948) and Hisanori Yokota (1987-1998).

Source: Daily Sports 7/13/2013