Welcome to Yakyubaka.com

2013 Georgia Spirit Award goes to Masahiro Tanaka

by on Nov.27, 2013 @ 2:56 pm, under NPB

Masahiro Tanaka won the 2013 Georgia Spirit Award for his start against the Seibu Lions on August 16.

Tanaka held the Seibu Lions to just one run and racked up ten strikeouts.  He also set a new NPB record by extending his winning streak to twenty-one games.  Georgia video - Box score

Tomoyuki Sugano won the Selection Committee's Special Award for making a nice defensive play on April 13.

The Giants had a 1-0 lead over the Yakult Swallows heading into the top of the 6th inning.  With a runner on second and no out, Masanori Ishikawa attempted to advance the runner on a sac bunt.  But insteead of hitting the ball on the ground, he popped the pitch into the air.  Sugano was charging on contact and made a sliding catch for the first out of the inning.  The Giants won the game 3-1.  Georgia video - Box score