Welcome to Yakyubaka.com

[8/6/2014] Yomiuri Giants, Hanshin Tigers, Hiroshima Carp, Yokohama Bay Stars, Yakult Swallows

by on Aug.07, 2014 @ 2:06 am, under NPB

Yomiuri Giants

  • The Giants held a press conference for Hector Mendoza on Wednesday.  He has been assigned the number ninety-four. Source: official announcement
  • Yasuyuki Kataoka was taken off the active roster on Wednesday because of poor performance.  He will be given some time to work through his issues at Ni-gun. Source: Sanpso 8/6/2014

Hanshin Tigers

  • Randy Messenger's next start could come on the 12th against the Yomiuri Giants at Tokyo Dome.  His four RBIs on Tuesday was most for a Hanshin pitcher in one game since Kazuyuki Yamamoto drove in four with a grand slam on June 23, 1981. Source: Sanspo 8/6/2014, Sanspo 8/6/2014, Sponichi 8/6/2014
  • Takahiro Arai recorded the eighth grand slam of his career during Tuesday's game against the Yakult Swallows.  It was his first grand slam since July 17, 2011 and his second in a Hanshin uniform. Source: Nikkan Sports 8/6/2014
  • The Tigers hit four home runs on Tuesday for the first time since July 29, 2012 (vs Yokohama at Koshien).  The franchise record of nine in one game was set on September 19, 1976 (vs Hiroshima at Koshien).  They also scored twenty runs and banged out twenty-three hits.  The Tigers have scored twenty or more runs in a game three times in the past: twenty runs on July 7, 1937 (vs Nagoya at Nishinomiya); twenty-one runs on September 10, 2005 (vs Hiroshima at Koshien); twenty-two runs (franchise high) on August 25, 2010 (vs Hiroshima at Kyocera Dome).  They recorded twenty-three or more hits in a game for the fifth time, first since May 6, 1985 (twenty-three hits against Chunichi at Koshien).  The franchise record of twenty-four hits was set on April 18, 1976 (vs Taiyo at Kanazawa).  This was the fifth time in franchise history the offense managed at least twenty hits in three or more games in one season: four times in 1946, three times in 1949, four times in 1985, four times in 2010, and three times in 2014.  The Tigers and Swallows combined for thirty-one runs on Tuesday, a Central League first since Yokohama beat Yakult 22-11 on July 22, 1999. Source: Sanspo 8/6/2014, Nikkan Sports 8/6/2014 ... There was one other thirty-one or more run game in Central League history: Chunichi beat Osaka 22-9 on October 6, 1950. Source: Sponichi 8/6/2014
  • Takashi Toritani, Mauro Gomez, and Matt Murton all hit home runs on Tuesday.  The last time the three, four, and five hitters in the Hanshin order blasted home runs in the same game was May 3, 2011 against the Yomiuri Giants at Tokyo Dome (Toritani, T. Arai, Craig Brazell). Source: Sanspo 8/6/2014

Hiroshima Carp

  • Deunte Heath threw forty-three pitches and topped out at 149km/h during his Ni-gun debut on Tuesday.  He is scheduled to make another Ni-gun start on the 9th against Softbank. Source: Daily Sports 8/6/2014

Yokohama Bay Stars

  • The Bay Stars recorded their first walk-off victory against the Yomiuri Giants on Tuesday since May 10, 2013 and their first 12th-inning walk-off victory since April 5, 2005. Source: Sponichi 8/6/2014
  • Masayuki Kuwahara recorded his first five-hit game and walk-off on Tuesday.  The walk-off came on his fifth hit, a CL first since Ken Suzuki on April 18, 2004. Source: Nikkan Sports 8/6/2014

Yakult Swallows

  • The Swallows tied a franchise record on Wednesday with ten or more hits in seven straight games. Source: Sports Hochi 8/6/2014
  • On Tuesday, Ryosuke Yagi became the first pitcher in NPB history to start a game and lose without allowing a hit since Giancarlo Alvarado on July 19, 2010. Source: Sanspo 8/6/2014
  • The Swallows gave up twenty runs on twenty-three hits on Tuesday.  The twenty-three hits allowed was a first since August 10, 2004 (vs Hiroshima at Jingu).  The twenty runs allowed was a first since May 22, 2010 (vs Lotte at Marine Stadium).  They tied a franchise record by allowing twenty or more hits in three games this season (last set in 2004 and 2010). Source: Sports Hochi 8/7/2014