Welcome to Yakyubaka.com

[10/31/2014] Nippon Series News and Notes

by on Nov.01, 2014 @ 4:21 am, under NPB

General News

  • The Softbank Hawks finished off the Hanshin Tigers with a 1-0 shutout victory on Thursday. The last team to record a 1-0 shutout victory during the Nippon Series was Nippon Ham in 2012 (Game 4). Softbank became the fourth team to win the Nippon Series with a 1-0 shutout. The other three teams: the 1954 Chunichi Dragons, the 1960 Taiyo Whales, and the 2007 Chunichi Dragons. Source: Nikkan Sports 10/31/2014
  • Softbanks Koji Akiyama (2011, 2014) joined Kazuto Tsuruoka (1959, 1964) and Sadaharu Oh (1999, 2003) as the only managers in franchise history to win two Nippon Series championships. He also joined Shunichi Amachi (1954) as the only managers in NPB history since 1950 to step down after winning a Nippon Series championship. Source: Nikkan Sports 10/31/2014 ... Akiyama is the only former outfielder turned manager to win two Nippon Series championships. Source: Sponichi 10/31/2014
  • The Hawks recorded their sixth Nippon Series championship on Thursday moved into sole possession of this place on the all-time list. Yomiuri is in first with twenty-two and Seibu in second with thirteen. Yakult fell into fourth with five. Source: Sponichi 10/31/2014
  • The Tigers became the second team in NPB to record just one victory in two consecutive Nippon Series appearances (0-4 vs Lotte in 2005 and 1-4 vs Softbank in 2014). The other team was Lotte in 1960 (0-4) and in 1970 (1-4). Only three Nippon Series games have ended on a double play: 1980, 1998, and 2014. Source: Sponichi 10/31/2014
  • Based on Nippon Series Agreement, the NPB gets a twenty-four percent cut of ticket revenue after expenses for the first four games of the Nippon Series. The percentage goes up to thirty-seven percent for every game after that. Source: Sanspo 10/31/2014

Softbank Hawks

  • The Hawks prepared 3,000 beers and 400 colas for their post-game celebrations on Thursday. Source: Sponichi 10/31/2014
  • Relievers gave up just one run over 17.1 innings of work. Source: Sponichi 10/31/2014
  • Yuito Mori recorded two holds during the Nippon Series and set a new record for rookie pitchers in their first year. Source: Sponichi 10/31/2014
  • Yuki Yoshimura jammed a finger on his left hand when he slid head first into first base in the 3rd inning. He told reporters during Thursday's celebrations that he planned to visit the hospital on Friday. Source: Sponichi 10/31/2014

Tsuyoshi Nishioka

Nishioka posted a message to Facebook on Friday to thank fans for their support and to clear the air about why he ran inside the base line instead of inside the running lane. Below is a translation of the section covering his run to first.

Please let me explain what I was thinking during the last play [on Thursday]!

The moment I hit the ball, I was convinced it was going to be a double play.

I am well aware of the rule that defines getting hit by a thrown baseball while running inside the line as an offensive interference!

When I hit the ball, even without any runners on base or even while batting left-handed, I run inside the line then move outside the line. I know the rule, but the moment I hit the ball I felt it was going to be a double play and so long as there was even a small chance, I decided to hug the line as much as possible while running from the inside to the outside in hopes of getting hit!

I thought I would be fine as long as my leg was on the outside of the line when I got hit, so I felt I was doing something that was okay, even if it was right on the edge of what is allowed.

That is what I was thinking!

I am sure there are pros and cons to this kind of thinking, but I wanted to speak the truth so I posted this to Facebook.

There are many opinions and I am prepared to accept them all!

But more than the base-running, it was my fault for not being able to get a hit in that situation!

I really wanted to please the Hanshin fans, but I ended up doing the opposite!

I am very sorry for disappointing you!!

Source: Facebook 10/31/2014

[UPDATE 11/2 @ 1:27am]

The NPB received over twenty phone calls on Friday about the offensive interference call by the umpire on Thursday. There was some confusion about why the call was made. The NPB did what it could to explain the situation and the rule.

Source: Daily Sports 11/1/2014