Welcome to Yakyubaka.com

[11/5/2014] 2014 Shoriki Matsutaro Award: Koji Akiyama

by on Nov.05, 2014 @ 10:01 pm, under NPB

The Shoriki Matsutaro Award selection committee met at a hotel in Tokyo earlier today and unanimously voted to give this year's award to Koji Akiyama. Akiyama has won the award two other times during his career: as a player with Seibu in 1991 and as manager of Softbank in 2011.

"His team did not lose the big games during the Pennant Race, the Climax Series, and the Nippon Series. His two Nippon Series championships during his six years as manager is a wonderful," said Sadaharu Oh.

Akiyama will be presented with the award during the NPB Award 2014 presentation on November 26.

Selection committee = Sadaharu Oh, Masao Taguchi, Shigeru Sugishita, Futoshi Nakanishi, and Koji Yamamoto (absent).

Source: official announcement, Sports Hochi 11/5/2014, Daily Sports 11/5/2014, Sponichi 11/6/2014