Welcome to Yakyubaka.com

[10/17/2015] Yakult Swallows advance to Nippon Series with 3-2 win over Yomiuri Giants

by on Oct.17, 2015 @ 9:44 pm, under NPB

After losing the first game of the series, the Yakult Swallows blanked the Yomiuri Giants twice in a row and capped things off with a 3-2 win tonight to take the Final Stage of the 2015 Climax Series. For the Swallows, it will be their seventh Nippon Series appearance, first since 2001.

Mitsuru Manaka was tossed into the air seven times. A few other players, including Tony Barnette three times, Logan Ondrusek three times and Orlando Roman three times, were also tossed into the air.

Shingo Kawabata was named the Central League Climax Series MVP.

Manaka is the seventeenth manager in NPB history (eighth in Central League history) to guide a team to the Nippon Series in his first year. He is the first rookie manager to make it to the Nippon Series through the play-offs/Climax Series in Central League history. Softbank's manager, Kimiyasu Kudo, is also a rookie manager. It was be the fourth time in NPB history two rookie managers face each other in the Nippon Series. The other three times: Masaaki Mori (Seibu) and Junro Anan (Hiroshima) in 1986, Tatsunori Hara (Yomiuri) and Haruki Ihara (Seibu) in 2002, and Tsutomu Ito (Seibu) and Hiromitsu Ochiai (Chunichi) in 2004. Source: Sponichi 10/18/2015, Sanspo 10/18/2015


Nippon Series 2015 Schedule

Date Gm Time Venue
10/24 Sat 1 18:30 YafuOku Dome
10/25 Sun 2 18:30 YafuOku Dome
10/27 Tue 3 18:15 Jingu Stadium
10/28 Wed 4 18:15 Jingu Stadium
10/29 Thur 5 18:15 Jingu Stadium
10/31 Sat 6 18:30 YafuOku Dome
11/01 Sun 7 18:30 YafuOku Dome


See also: